Interview with George Stankevich

Standard

George Stankevich

Animator, Visual Effects artist, Teacher in Technológico de Monterrey in Querétaro, México, of courses in 3D animation, digital post production and creativity and mentor students.

From 2002 to 2006 has been 3D Technical Lead, training staff to produce 3D animation and virtual reality.

In 2006 he moved in China, where will stay for 10 years, teaching advanced 3D Animation Visual Effects and Multimedia classes in the Guangdong Polytechnic Normal University.

From 2007 to 2009 has worked in Legend Toonland as a 3D Technical Director, handling technical issues related to large scale 3D animation production trough scripting and technical training. In the same years worked in the motion picture credits “The Forbidden Kingdom”.

From 2010 to 2013 has been the Technical Manager at ECCG animation. Just finished production and promotion of “Save the 356th Day” a 3D Stereoscopic Animated Feature Film.

George, thanks to his career in United States, China and Mexico offers an interesting and actual point of view of the visual effects world market.

 

Hello George, could you present your self? could you tell me how do you start your career in visual effects and animation? and why have done this choice?

My name is George and my background in animation started when I was around 20. I decided to get into animation because I couldn’t get into the film. Another reason is because I like to sit in my room and I don’t like to go outside, I’m a geek, I admite it.

And that’s what one of my friends said about animators and…he may be right.

How do you start your career? could you tell me which have been the most significant steps of it?

I got my start in the industry, in New York, doing works for advertising and for television, after that I went to in Guangdong and then I worked for HongKong company. From there I moved to a company right near in Macao, which is the old portoguese colon. There I was working for the special effects of  the Crouching Tiger and Dragon and here the relationship with Ang Lee which helps getting some works for the Forbidden Kingdom, as well as some Taiwanese movies. And there was mainly special effects, for those movies as well as for Chinese television.

You have lived 10 years in China, how can you describe Chinese market? compared with the United States one.

Chinese market is very interesting, because it is the second largest in the world, after North America and I think that North America means: United States and Canada. But was interesting about it, it’s over 50% controlled by Chinese companies. And that’s largely because of the policies of the government to try to maintain Chinese media and I suppose you can call it Chinese media sovereignty and culture sovereignty, I don’t know.

What do you think is happening in special effects market?

I think that what maybe is happening now is that special effects become easier and easier to do, the ability to ask for a lot of money for them..decreases.. I like to compare to sugar, people say “Special effects are everywhere!” and I say “Yes, sugar is everywhere too! but how profitable is the sugar industry?”

Michele Cattani

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

